eagles logo




The South Western Districts Rugby Union and SWD Eagles Rugby Team
are based at the foothills of the Outeniqua mountains in the scenic city
of George. George is the administrative and commercial centre of the
Southern Cape region of South Africa.

This area includes the towns of George, Mossel Bay, Oudshoorn,
Riversdale, Knysna, Plettenberg Bay and Beaufort West. The SWD
rugby teams are well known for their green, black and white colours.
The Union and teams are based at their home ground at Outeniqua
Park Stadium which has often been described as one of the most
scenic rugby grounds in the world by international commentators.
The stadium is the biggest stadium in the region and is fitting for rugby as
the biggest sport in the region.



The South Western Districts Rugby Union was established in 1899 and
it has a proud legacy still continuing in today’s modern professional era.

During the early years provincial home matches were rotated mainly
between Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn and George before the Union
moved to its current home at Outeniqua Park in George.

Outeniqua Park was opened in 1966 by the honourable mayor of
George, Mr Andrew Swart and was initially the home of George Rugby
Club before SWDRFU took occupation thirty years later, in 1996.

The SWD Eagles won the Bankfin Cup in 2002, the ABSA Currie Cup 1st
Division in 2007 and played in the Currie Cup semi-final in 1999 under
current Springbok coach, Heyneke Meyer.

During the years SWD produced the following top players, coaches
and referees:


The SWD Eagles professional team play in the annual Vodacom Cup as
well as in the ABSA Currie Cup First Division. Its other 17 provincial teams
compete in national amateur and school tournaments.

SWDRFU was one of the first fully transformed unions in SA and boasts
an impressive development and club structure with more than one hundred
clubs making it one of the biggest club structures on the South African
rugby landscape.

The IRB International Sevens tournament was successfully hosted by
SWD Rugby from 2001 to 2010 before it was moved to Port Elizabeth
because a larger venue was needed. The 7s Premier League (based on
the IPL cricket concept) replaced the tournament in 2012.


Johan Heunis, Johan Muller (captain), Anton Leonard, Zane Kirchner,
Bevan Fortuin, Kabamba Floors, Meyer Bosman, Pedrie Wannenberg,
Marco Wentzel, Theo v Rensburg, Botha Rossouw and Braam v Straaten

Paul Treu, Darryl Coeries and Barry Jacobz

Heyneke Meyer (Springboks & Bulls),
Paul Treu (SA 7s),
Frans Ludecke (Bulls & Lions)
Phil Pretorius (EP, Valke, Maties & Tuks)

Hansie Schoeman, Cobus Wessels, Abe
Steenberg and Jason Jafta